29th Annual Woodcarving Show and Sale
May 3 & 4, 2008

Over 64 carvers and vendors came to the Ozarks to exhibit, compete, demonstrate and sell their carvings/wood turnings/carving supplies at the North Arkansas Woodcarvers' 29th Annual Show and Sale that was held May 3 and 4, 2008 at the Baxter County Fairgrounds in Mountain Home, AR. More than 136 ribbons, plaques and awards were presented including 52 cash prize awards throughout the weekend. Desiree Hajny, the competition's judge, carefully scrutinized the 182 carvings entered for judging from the 47 categories. Desiree was assisted by NAWC club members Roberta Dulaney, recorder; Debra Bergum, photographer; Jay Nottingham, announcer; Dick Dulaney, carving entry table; Norm Rutledge, carving entry handler; Bonnie Davis and Sandy Smith, show coordinators. Fidel Tiscareno "saved-the-day" by bringing in and setting up his sound system that was used for both days for announcements, the carving competition and the whittling contest.

Kathi Clark arranged for doughnuts on Saturday morning and fresh brewed coffee to begin each day of the show. Ray and Jean Kropke (and Jean's twin sister, Jan) worked the entrance table making sure that everyone visiting the show was warmly greeted and received a door prize ticket as well as a People's Choice Ballot. Admission for both days was free, but donations are always greatly appreciated and "encouraged" by Ray. Dick Dulaney wood burned innumerable insignia tags for each branch of the military to honor Veterans visiting the show. Jody Nottingham assisted by Barb Edelbrock did a wonderful job selling tickets at the raffle table. Barb & Sidney Edelbrock, Norm Rutledge, Curt & Deen Shirkey, Dave McConkey, Tommy Johnson and Ellen & Bob Karpen handled the club and door prize tables selling T-shirts, mugs, hats, NAWC patches, memberships, etc., and coordinated the drawings for the hourly door prizes. Behind the scenes "sign committee" members were Norm Rutledge, Jim Clements, Dick Dulaney, Bonnie Davis, Kathi & Jerry (and Misty) Clark, and Gary & Sandy Smith. Nine extra tables were lent to us by the Lakeview Community Club with permission from the club's president and were picked up / returned by Bonnie Davis, Sandy Smith, Bernie Hajny (yes, we conned the judge's husband into helping deliver the tables) and Gary Smith.

Art Boatright of Marion, IL pleased the crowd once again both days at the entrance to the building with his wonderful chainsaw carvings. Art donated a magnificent chainsaw "Welcome/Go Away" Bear for the raffle that was won by Bruce Blihovde of Dardanelle, AR. The NAWC "Friendship Cane" carved from blocks was won by Al Felz from Mountain Home, AR, and the NAWC "Friendship Cane" carved from spools was won by Barb Edelbrock from Clarkridge, AR. Tommy Johnson's "Last Supper" scrollsaw wall hanging was won by Carol Yudis (The Woodcraft Shop) of Bettendorf, IA.

Our club, in a joint effort, put together the walking sticks for the raffles. Carvers for the "spool" walking stick were: Kathi Clark (handle plus 3 spools), Arlene Lesiak, Norm Rutledge, Toni Giardina, Sid Edelbrock, Sandy Smith, Tom Higgins, Don Lesiak, Dale Lakin, Roland Ellis (two spools), Ken Doran, Naomi Inglett, Roland Ellis. Carvers for the "block" walking stick were: Norm Rutledge (handle plus a block), Roland Ellis, Sid Edelbrock, Dick Dulaney (three blocks), Sandy Smith, Dick Arndt, Norm Rutledge, Kathi Clark.

Much interest was generated for all of our Raffle items, shown by the number of tickets for each carving. Many thanks to the kind and talented carvers that donated their time, skills and carving/scrollsaw raffle prizes.

Four carvers volunteered their time, shared their knowledge and demonstrated their skills in showing all that were interested how change a piece of wood into an artful masterpiece. Demonstrators were: Randy Landen - Caricatures; Mike Shipley - Caricatures; Carol Wherry - Gouge Chip Carving; and Bruce Futterer - Scandanavian Flat Plane Carving.

Saturday evening's banquet dinner/auction was held at the Elks Club with approximately 95 people in attendance. Everyone received a "gift box" handmade and stuffed with trinkets by club members and a ticket for the door prize raffle that was held after the meal. Plaques were presented to competition winners in attendance. Dick Todd cut and finished the wonderful walnut bases for the plaques, and the engraving was provided by The Lockeroom. An auction, led by Tom Brown and assisted by Randy Landen and Ray Kropke, was conducted to generate funds for next year's show. There were many wonderful items auctioned as well as many very happy winning bidders with their prizes. Thanks, Tom, Randy and Ray, for making the evening's auction fun and entertaining. Sincere gratitude goes to all club members and non-members that collected/carved auction items, Kathi Clark for "twisting the arms" of local businesses for donations, and to Dalene Berke for the basketful of local restaurant gift certificates for the banquet's door prizes.

The "Unlimited Hand Tools" Whittling Contest was again a popular event. Donated knives, gouges, roughouts, mugs, gift certificates and catalogs were given to all participants of this contest. Tom Brown graciously agreed to be the contest's announcer and did a spectacular job. Six carvers entered Sunday afternoon's contest and were given a time limit of 1 hour plus a 10-minute break after the first 30 minutes. Contestants included (alphabetically) Shayna Afrassiab, Mona Afrassiab, Chuck Bailey, Deb Bergum, Ken Doran, and Bruce Futterer. The carvers were allowed unlimited hand tools and were given a 2"x2"x6" chunk of basswood (donated by Dale/Marge Heinecke) to carve a "masterpiece". Desiree Hajny, Larry Yudis and Mary Green (substituting for Dale Heinecke, her dad) judged the results. First, second and third place winners received a plaque from NAWC, a "prize" of their choosing, plus a Woodcraft Shop gift certificate. Bruce Futterer placed first; Chuck Bailey - second and Deb Bergum - third. Special thanks go to Larry and Carol Yudis for their generous gift certificate donation and to Dale Heinecke for the "whittling" wood.

An "After The Show" Woodcarving Seminar with Desiree Hajny was more than fun. Eleven class participants carved for three days on a multiple bison project, learning about the insides and outsides of calves and adult bison. Class participants were Chuck Bailey, Deb Bergum, Kathi Clark, Bonnie Davis, Sid Edelbrock, Toni Giardina, Ron Morrow, Red Murr, Curt Shirkey, Sandy Smith and Cindy Stephens. Delicious lunches were brought in by Kathi Clark, Bonnie Davis, Sid/Barb Edelbrock and Curt/Deen Shirkey. Special thanks go to Arlene/Don Lesiak and Sid/Barb Edelbrock for supplying the tables and chairs, and to Gary Smith for letting us use the garage.

Sincere thanks go to all participants and to the club members who graciously volunteered their time to make it all work. Heartfelt appreciation go to the vendors, businesses, club members, visiting carvers and friends who donated money, merchandise and their time to help make the show a success. Special thanks go to the "sign committee" who trekked through high grasses and dodged rain to set up and break down the club's wooden signs making sure that the public knew when and where the show was to be held. Without everyone's generous help and support the show could not have been possible. The Show Committee is already discussing plans for our 30th Annual Show to be held May 2 & 3, 2009. See you there!


Photos by Deb Bergum